Notice of Race

2016-2017 RL24 NSW STATE TITLE CHAMPIONSHIPS

- Heat1 12th November 2016
- Heat 2 13th November 2016
- Heat 3 5th March 2017
- Heats 1 & 2 at ILLAWARRA YACHT CLUB. Located at 1 Northcliffe Drive, WARRAWONG. 2502.
- Heat 3 at KOGARAH BAY SAILING CLUB. Located at Dover Park East, Princes Highway, BLAKEHURST.

1. Rules and Organising Authority.

The NSW RL24 State Title Championships is organised in conjunction with the Illawarra Yacht Club and Kogarah Bay Sailing Club and governed by the Racing Rules of Sailing for 2013-2016, the Special Regulations of Yachting Australia, SR Part 1, Category 7.

1.1 RRS 32.1 will be changed "As an alternative to shortening the course using Race Signal "S", the following alteration can also apply: Race Signal 'S' over 'H' when displayed on or near a mark means the race is shortened. Boats shall, after rounding or passing the mark and completing the course of the leading boat, proceed directly to the finish line."

2. Eligibility and Entry.

The NSW RL24 State Championship is open to all RL24 Class Trailable Yachts that are registered with the RL24 Owner's Association of Australia and who are financial members of the RL24 Owner's Association of Australia for the 2016-2017 season. Eligible boats may enter the regatta on the attached entry form and accompanied by the required fee. Beach entries will be accepted on Saturday 12^{th} November from 11:00 - 12:30. Entrants shall carry \$5M minimum indemnity insurance.

3. Fees

The Entry fee for the NSW RL24 State Championship is \$20-00. This entry fee must be paid before Heat 1 of the State Championships.

In addition, each RL24 Trailable Yacht will also pay the entry fee for the Lord Mayors Regatta held at Illawarra Yacht Club - \$20-00 for the regatta

Saturday regatta dinner available from the IYC dining room - BOOKINGS ESSENTIAL.

\$5 Cooked breakfast available at IYC. (Sunday-8.30 -9.30).

In addition, each RL24 Trailable Yacht will also pay the entry fee for the Kurnell Cup held at Kogarah Bay Sailing Club -\$10-00.

4. Schedule of Events.

Events are scheduled for the NSW RL24 State Title Championships and for each regatta as follows: **Registration** will be held in the IYC's Lakeside Tavern (downstairs room) from 1100 - 1200 hours Saturday 12th November 2016.

Race 1 - Warning Signal time not before 1330 hours Saturday 12th November 2016.

Race 2 - Warning Signal time not before 1100 hours Sunday 12th November 2016.

Race 3 - Warning Signal time not before 1200 hours Sunday 5th March 2017.

5. Measurements and Safety

Entrants will be expected to meet the measurement requirements as specified by the RL24 Owner's Association of Australia.

6. Sailing Instructions.

The sailing instructions for the NSW RL24 State Title Championships and for the IYC's Lord Mayor's Regatta will be available from IYC race headquarters from 1100 hours Saturday 12th November 2016 after registration has been completed.

Sailing instructions for the Kogarah Bay Sailing Club's Kurnell Cup will be available from race headquarters from 1030 hours on Sunday 5th March 2017.

7. Racing Area and Courses.

Heats 1 & 2 Races will be conducted on Lake Illawarra as illustrated on IYC courses as described in the IYC's sailing instructions. Heat 1 will be an Olympic Triangle course and will be fully described in the IYC's Sailing Instructions. Heat 2 will be a passage race around Lake Illawarra and will be fully described in IYC's Sailing Instructions.

Heat 3 will be conducted on Botany Bay as a passage race and will be fully described in the KBSC's Sailing Instructions.

8. Scoring.

The Low Point scoring system, Appendix A will apply except that except that first place in each race will score 0.75 point. Three races constitute the NSW RL24 State Titles series. A minimum of 2 races is required to make up the NSW RL24 State Title Championship event. Each boat's score will be the total of her three race scores. All scores shall be counted. Where there are insufficient starters for separate Swing Keel and Drop Keel Division, all RL24s will sail together and elapsed times will be corrected using

Australia Sailing's ATYSB's Class Based Handicaps (i.e. DK = 0.760; SK = 0.725).

9. Prizes.

For the NSW RL24 State Title Championships, prizes will be awarded for 1st, 2nd and 3rd placings on CBH corrected elapsed times. Overall placings and prizes for the NSW RL24 State Title Championships will be presented at the conclusion of the Kurnell Cup at the Kogarah Bay Sailing Clubhouse.

For the Illawarra Yacht Club's Lord Mayor's Regatta, each entrant will receive a regatta memento. Prizes will be awarded to first on CBH for each race and first, second and third overall. Class prizes will be awarded for 5 entrants from the same class based on the CBH overall placings. Random prizes will be awarded in each division. Prizes are sponsored by Illawarra Yacht Club.

For the Kogarah Bay Sailing Club's Kurnell Cup, prizes will be awarded to first on CBH for each race and first, second and third overall. Class prizes will be awarded for 5 entrants from the same class based on the CBH overall placings.

10. Facilities.

Illawarra Yacht Club welcomes entrants to use their facilities.

Boats are discouraged from mooring on the club pontoons during launching times. The adjacent jetty and sea walls are available for that purpose. Club dress regulations apply in parts of the club. Children are not permitted in poker machine areas of the club. Boat Launching ramps are available at Illawarra Yacht Club and Port Kembla Sailing Club (Berkeley).

Boat launching facilities are available at the Kogarah Bay Sailing Club's site in Dover Park East.

NOTE: entry to Dover Park East is ONLY available from the south bound lanes of the Princes Highway.

11. Radio Communication

While racing, a boat shall neither make nor receive radio transmissions which are not available to all boats. This restriction also applies to mobile telephones.

12. Safety

The Safety Category applicable to this series is Y.A. Special Regulations Section 2.01.7 Category 6. In addition the following shall apply.

3.24.3(b) Outboard motors shall be mounted in the normal operating positions at all times but may be retracted while sailing. A minimum of 9 litres of fuel must be carried at the start of each race.

PFDs shall be worn by all crew members at all times while afloat during the NSW RL24 State Title Championship.

Further Information:

Please contact -: Colin Boylan (0427 273084 or boylan.colin@gmail.com

or Martin O'Shannessey on 0419 998035

or Paul Corben on 0409 075482

RL24 NSW STATE TITLE CHAMPIONSHIP

2016-2017 NSW RL24 STATE TITLE CHAMPIONSHIP

ENTRY FORM

Entry Fee: \$20 - 00	
BOAT NAME:	SAIL NUMBER:
CLASS:	HULL COLOUR:
PERSON IN CHARGE:	Persons on Board:
ADDRESS:	
POSTCODE:	
PHONE:	EMAIL:

DECLARATIONS

My boat complies with the RL24 Class Owners Association of Australia rules and specifications. **YES / NO** (delete one).

Details of modification:

My boat complies to the mandatory safety requirements of 2013-2016 Racing Rules of Sailing, Special Regulations, Addendum 'A', Category 7 and the class rules

My boat or its skipper carries a minimum of \$5 million or more third party liability insurance. This insurance will remain in force for each and every race sailed in the series.

I agree to the Indemnity Declaration for both the NSW RL24 State Title Championships and for the Lord Mayor's Regatta Competitors at Illawarra Yacht Club (posted on the regatta notice board) and for the Kurnell Cup Competitors at Kogarah Bay Sailing Club.

I agree to be bound by the Racing Rules of Sailing and all other rules that govern the event

Signed:_____ Date:_____

Witness:

(name) (signature)

Please complete and email your entry form to Colin Boylan at <u>Boylan.colin@gmail.com</u> before 12th November 2016.

Forms will also be available at IYC's Registration Centre.